Richard Foreman: Sword of Rome: Gladiator

The Author:

Richard Foreman, the author of the bestselling Raffles: The Gentleman Thief books, blends the political intrigue of Robert Harris’ series of Cicero novels with the action and adventure of Simon Scarrow in this sweeping historical epic.

Praise for Richard Foreman’s Augustus: Son of Rome
‘Augustus: Son of Rome forges action and adventure with politics and philosophy. This superb story is drenched in both blood and wisdom – and puts Foreman on the map as the coming man of historical fiction’. Saul David, Author of the Zulu Hart series.
Augustus: Son of Rome is now available on Amazon UK and USA.
Published by Endeavour Press, the UK’s leading independent publisher of digital books.
His latest novella: Sword of Rome: Gladiator
swordofromegladiator

Product Description

Rome, 51BC
The centurion Lucius Oppius has left the battlefields of Gaul to venture to Rome.
But he is about to discover the capital of the Empire can be every bit as dangerous as its provinces.
Under orders from Caesar to secure an item of intelligence that will help him become a Consul again Oppius is manipulated into taking part in a gladiatorial contest.
The soldier must not only fight his enemies in the arena however. Marcus Porcius Cato warns “Caesar’s Champion” that victory inside the arena will bring death outside of it.
Oppius soon discovers that while in Gaul your enemies stand before you in a shield wall in Rome they stab you in the back.
‘Sword of Rome: Gladiator’ is an action-packed novella that takes you into the heart of Rome and into the crucible of gladiatorial combat. As well as facing death and treachery, Oppius and his legionaries will also encounter a young Octavius Caesar and Pompey the Great.
The Sword of Rome series brings together history and adventure in stories which will appeal to fans of both Simon Scarrow and Bernard Cornwell.
Review:
I have only just recently found that Novella’s can be enjoyable, in the past they have often been a disappointment because just when you are getting into the story its ending. This latest novella from Richard Foreman has some of that, but it’s also fun, full of action and fast paced. The author has a clear light fun voice in the book, and his characters and easy to like and follow.
As a reader of historical fiction i have to say to other followers of the genre, there are flaws on the history, but it never purports to be historically accurate, just a fun action packed fictional story set in Rome, if you can get to that frame of mind then this is well worth the £1.99 for this or the others in the series.
Where else can you time travel to Ancient Rome for a whole evening for less than the price of a pint!
Product DetailsProduct DetailsProduct Details
So go on…give one a bash and see what you think.
(Parm)
Advertisements

Leave a comment

Filed under Historical Fiction

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s