Nathan Hawke: Gallow: Cold Redemption (Review)

So who is Nathan Hawke?

Nathan Hawke is a British writer of fantasy fiction. He has worked variously in the City, as a consultant to the police and to the services. He has travelled in the far east, worked for a time in Las Vegas, was briefly involved in video game design, and once skied off a mountain under a parachute for a bet. His current ambitions include rafting the Colerado River and walking the Milford Track. The Gallow series are his first novels.

Below is the original announcement:

And there is also good news for British fantasy writer Nathan Hawke, who has signed a new three-book deal. The new series will features a hero that will appeal to fans of David Gemmell. The lead characters, Gallow, finds himself on the wrong side of wars, through his belief in honour.  As the series progresses, he must deal with the consequences of his actions and the truth of his relationships with others whose sense of honour is more tarnished than his own.

“Fantasy has been built on the exploits of those troubled, all too human men and women who have tried to make a difference, tried to do the right thing. Nathan’s conception of Gallow made it clear that here was a man who could stand shoulder-to-shoulder with the best of them. It’s going to be great fun helping Nathan bring a new hero to a new generation of readers,” commented Simon Spanton, Deputy Publishing Director of Gollancz, who acquired world rights to the series from John Jarrold.

Product Description

Buy the book

cold redemption

I fought against your people, and I have fought for them. I have killed, and I have murdered. I betrayed my kin and crippled my king. I led countless warriors to their deaths and fought to save one worthless life. I have stood against monsters and men and I cannot always tell the difference.

Fate carried me away from your lands, from the woman and the family I love. Three hellish years but now, finally, I may return. I hope I will find them waiting for me. I hope they will remember me while all others forget. Let my own people believe me dead, lest they hunt me down. Let me return in the dark and in the shadows so no one will know.

But hope is rare and fate is cruel. And if I have to, I will fight.

Review:

I held off reading book two of this series, just for a few extra weeks, sometime anticipation can make a book even more fun, but also i wanted a bit more of a gap from book one, to ensure i wasn’t being swept along by my own enthusiasm.

I’m very very happy to say i wasn’t. Where book one is like a piece of historical fiction given a slight fantasy bent, Vikings with a difference. Book 2 takes the reader deeper into the fantasy world, the different people, different lands. Some of the mystical / magical elements are dangled, but deliberately vague.

Most of all its a character driven story, Implacable, honourable, deadly Gallow. His friend from across the mountains, his past in the shape of the fateguard, and his friend Tovis Ludmouth, the Marroc, the loshir.

Every person, every race, all written with a very clear skill so reminiscent of Gemmell it makes me nostalgic for the Drenai with every chapter.

Many have been compared to David Gemmell in style, but this for me is truly the first to get the characters right, to get the flow right and to make me want to start the book again as soon as i finished it.

I dearly hope that this series not only gets nominated for a Legend award but wins, for the cover art which is exceptional, but more for the story that is a combined series in my top 5 stories this year, and if it keeps up this standard could make my all time top 10.

I look forward to book 3 Gallow: The Last Bastion, due out on the 12th Sept.

last bastion

So go buy the whole series, you will not regret it, this is a series for fans of Historical fiction, fantasy, or those that love great books with great characters.

Very highly recommended

(Parm)

2 Comments

Filed under Fantasy, Historical Fiction

2 responses to “Nathan Hawke: Gallow: Cold Redemption (Review)

  1. Pingback: Parmenion Books 2013 in review | parmenionbooks

  2. Pingback: Nathan Hawke Gallow Guest Blog. | parmenionbooks

Leave a Reply

