Writing about war–tactics, decisions, and the edge of battle

For those who love Fantasy and Historical Fiction…. (a must read… as is following this blog by Christian Cameron)

With Pen and Sword

It's not battle.  It's just foraging.... It’s not battle. It’s just foraging….

Yesterday I began book 4 of the Traitor Son series–which for now, I’m calling ‘A Plague of Swords.’  I’m starting a week late because I did some fun things like visiting my friends in the USA and spending a day with Jeffrey Hildebrandt.  But now I’m ready to get down to some serious writing.

A great deal of all my writing has to do with what I call the ‘edge of battle’ or the build up to battles.  I think this is because I am fascinated by the process that leads armies to clash–perhaps I find this more fascinating than the actual clashes.  When I wrote my first historical novel–Tyrant–I had Kineas, my protagonist, say that he didn’t love war, he loved the preparation for war–the training and the planning.

I suspect that’s me.

I’ve been reading military history since…

View original post 2,313 more words

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

