Good History Writing — In Praise of Ben Kane

Great blog about a fantastic author written by another splendid author … (Some great insights)

With Pen and Sword

BEN KANE BOOKS

http://www.benkane.net/

I love Ben Kane’s books.  I look forward to them eagerly; I get them in hardcover; I’ll eventually meet him and get some of them signed.  (Getting all of them signed seems unlikely, given the decline in international baggage allowance and my near-constant need to get armour into my baggage.  A problem that I suspect Ben Kane shares.)

Why?

Because he is as devoted to authenticity as anyone who writes in our sub-genre of military historical fiction.

ben

That’s Ben, in Roman Legionary kit, pinched from my friend Robin Carter’s blog.  In fact, Robin will provide a guest post this Friday, as I’ll be in the Adnacrags–er, the Adirondacks.

But… why does authenticity matter?

Well, at least for me as a reader, it’s like this.  Ever see an episode of ‘Sherlock’ on BBC?  When I’m reading Historical Fiction (or fantasy, to be honest) and I come to something I…

View original post 919 more words

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

