The Experience of Armour

With Pen and Sword

1524302_10204105950392784_4865245999673221116_o

With thanks, as usual, to Celia, champion photographer to the armoured fighting class. BTW, neither of these gentleman are me.  That’s Greg Mele of the Chicago Swordplay guild against Marc Auger of the Barrie Swordplay Guild and Hoplologia in Toronto.  You can just see Jon Press, my awesome squire and marathon runner, in the background between them.

In four days, I’ll be fighting in Verona.  I spent most of today prepping my armour.  OK, I also went to the bank and got euros, and I did some legal stuff so my wife could bring our daughter out later, after her exams, and I jumped through various other modern hoops.

Then I went to the basement.

Waiting for me were several simple jobs. In describing them, I hope I help readers and writers understand the sheer complexity of system that is a harness, or suit of armour.

First, for some weeks…

View original post 1,486 more words

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

