Matthew Harffy: Warrior of Woden (Review)

Matthew grew up in Northumberland where the rugged terrain,

ruined castles and

rocky coastline had a huge impact on him He now lives in Wil

tshire, England, with his

wife and their two daughters.

AD 642. Anglo-Saxon Britain. A gripping, action-packed historical thriller and the fifth instalment in the Bernicia Chronicles. Perfect for fans of Bernard Cornwell.

Oswald has reigned over Northumbria for eight years and Beobrand has led the king to ever greater victories. Rewarded for his fealty and prowess in battle, Beobrand is now a wealthy warlord, with a sizable warband. Tales of Beobrand’s fearsome black-shielded warriors and the great treasure he has amassed are told throughout the halls of the land.

Many are the kings who bow to Oswald. And yet there are those who look upon his realm with a covetous eye. And there is one ruler who will never kneel before him.

When Penda of Mercia, the great killer of kings, invades Northumbria, Beobrand is once more called upon to stand in an epic battle where the blood of many will be shed in defence of the kingdom.

But in this climactic clash between the pagan Penda and the Christian Oswald there is much more at stake than sovereignty. This is a battle for the very souls of the people of Albion.

Links to buy

Amazon https://amzn.to/2I4PeTA

Kobo: http://bit.ly/2Gf2V1P

Google Play: http://bit.ly/2umk5ZO

iBooks: https://apple.co/2G7vhyW

Follow Matthew Harffy

Website: http://www.matthewharffy.com/

Review:

 I have said for some time that Matthew Harffy is writing at a very high level, his Bernicia Chronicles started as most debuts with a good book but one with a few flaws, like a truly talented writer he listened to feedback and learned from it and The Cross and the Curse showed a big leap in writing skill, an improvement that has continued with every book, by Killer of Kings Matthew had a series to rival Bernard Cornwells Uthred, only Matthew Harffys is grittier, the characters deeper, more real and as such the plot more satisfying.

Warrior of Woden isn’t a book that kind on Beobrand, for a man who is a bit of a tortured soul, this book takes him further, and shows that no matter the era, warriors suffered from the constant war and the killing, but as ever our man digs deep into that well of courage to try to survive and over come. This is a brutal time and to survive it takes a man of depth and one who has come to terms with his own level of brutality.

Be prepared for death both on a big scale, but also on a personal scale, in the same vein as Anthony Riches, no one is safe….. read the book and see who gets it!

a highly accomplished gritty book, in a series that never fails to impress.

(Parm)

Series
Bernicia Chronicles
1. The Serpent Sword (2015)
2. The Cross and the Curse (2016)
3. Blood and Blade (2016)
4. Killer of Kings (2017)
5. Warrior of Woden (2018)
6. Storm of Steel (2019)
Kin of Cain (2017)
The Bernicia Chronicles Boxset 1-3 (omnibus) (2018)
thumbthumbthumbthumb
thumbthumbthumbthumb
Advertisements

1 Comment

Filed under Historical Fiction, Matthew Harffy

One response to “Matthew Harffy: Warrior of Woden (Review)

  1. Pingback: Blog Tour – Warrior of Woden by Matthew Harffy. | David's Book Blurg

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

w

Connecting to %s