Category Archives: Robin Hobb

Robin Hobb Fool’s Assassin (2014) (The first book in the Fitz and the Fool Trilogy series)

Robin Hobb


A pseudonym used by Megan Lindholm



Robin Hobb is a confirmed believer not just in research, but in attempting to experience the things she is writing about. When, at the age of ten, she moved with her family from California to Alaska, it shaped her as a writer more than any other experience in her life. In the early stages of her writing career she established herself as an author under the name ‘Megan Lindholm’, creating such fine works of modern fantasy as Wizard of the Pigeons, Harpy’s Flight, The Windsingers, and The Reindeer People. In 1992 she decided to embark upon something of greater epic scope. To mirror that change, she chose a new name, ‘Robin Hobb’ under which she has, to the present day, written three trilogies: the Farseer, Liveship Traders and Tawny Man trilogies. She is Voyager’s fastest-selling author in backlist and has now sold over 1 million copies of her paperbacks

Fool’s Assassin (2014)
(The first book in the Fitz and the Fool Trilogy series)

robin hobb fools assassin

Tom Badgerlock has been living peaceably in the manor house at Withywoods with his beloved wife Molly these many years, the estate a reward to his family for loyal service to the crown.

But behind the facade of respectable middle-age lies a turbulent and violent past. For Tom Badgerlock is actually FitzChivalry Farseer, bastard scion of the Farseer line, convicted user of Beast-magic, and assassin. A man who has risked much for his king and lost more…

On a shelf in his den sits a triptych carved in memory stone of a man, a wolf and a fool. Once, these three were inseparable friends: Fitz, Nighteyes and the Fool. But one is long dead, and one long-missing.

Then one Winterfest night a messenger arrives to seek out Fitz, but mysteriously disappears, leaving nothing but a blood-trail. What was the message? Who was the sender? And what has happened to the messenger?

Suddenly Fitz’s violent old life erupts into the peace of his new world, and nothing and no one is safe


Reviewing one of the giants of the genre is always difficult, if you don’t like the book or even find the slightest negative you can expect to be flamed to a crisp by the fan base. Fortunately I really enjoyed the book, if i had anything negative to say it would be that it was slightly longer than needed, any lesser known author would not have been given the latitude to express the depth of emotion or description and would have been pushed to go for more pace. BUT: that comment cannot detract from what is another exceptional book by Robin Hobb. Of all her books, books i have loved each (except the Soldier son series), this new one feels different, like coming home after years away, finding all your old family and friends a little older and wiser, but still the same deep down.

The whole book (all 640 pages) is a deeply emotional ride, a voyeuristic view into the emotions and diaries of Fitz and his orbiting family and friends, Robin Hobbs talent is telling it in a deeply compelling and non invasive style. I read this emotional roller-coaster of a book over several days, reading long past 1am each night, when i knew i had work the next day, i just could not put the book down. Unlike many fantasy books there are no great battles, no great mission, this is life, life in a tough world full of intrigue, assassins and dark history, all of this breeds paranoia, paranoia at life, family, motives both your own and those of others. Its this depth of writing , character exploration and plot that makes Robin Hobb such an exceptional writer, someone who can write a book that will effect the reader so much that days later the plot and its characters are still spinning around your head and leaves you not only wanting the next book but also to read this one again.

I miss Fitz, Bee and the rest of the family already, a year before the next book seems like an eternity (odd considering its been so long since we last saw or heard from Fitz)

very highly recommended




1. Assassin’s Apprentice (1995)
2. Royal Assassin (1996)
3. Assassin’s Quest (1997)
Words Like Coins (2012)
The Farseer Trilogy: Assassin’s Apprentice / Royal Assassin / Assassin’s Quest (omnibus) (2013)
Royal Assassin / Assassin’s Quest (omnibus) (2013)
Assassin's ApprenticeRoyal AssassinAssassin's QuestWords Like Coins
The Farseer Trilogy:  Assassin's Apprentice / Royal Assassin / Assassin's QuestRoyal Assassin / Assassin's Quest
 Liveship Traders
1. Ship of Magic (1998)
2. The Mad Ship (1999)
3. Ship of Destiny (2000)
The Liveship Traders: The complete trilogy (omnibus) (2012)
Ship of MagicThe Mad ShipShip of DestinyThe Liveship Traders: The complete trilogy
 Tawny Man
1. Fool’s Errand (2001)
2. The Golden Fool (2002)
3. Fool’s Fate (2003)
The Tawny Man Series Books 2 and 3: Golden Fool / Fool’s Fate (omnibus) (2013)
The Tawny Man Trilogy: Fool’s Errand / Golden Fool / Fool’s Fate (omnibus) (2013)
Fool's ErrandThe Golden FoolFool's FateThe Tawny Man Series Books 2 and 3: Golden Fool / Fool's Fate
The  Tawny Man Trilogy: Fool's Errand / Golden Fool / Fool's Fate
 Soldier Son
1. Shaman’s Crossing (2005)
2. Forest Mage (2006)
3. Renegade’s Magic (2007)
The Soldier Son Trilogy Bundle (omnibus) (2012)
Shaman's CrossingForest MageRenegade's MagicThe Soldier Son Trilogy Bundle
 Rain Wild Chronicles
1. The Dragon Keeper (2009)
2. Dragon Haven (2010)
3. City of Dragons (2012)
4. Blood of Dragons (2013)
Rain Wilds Chronicles (omnibus) (2014)
The Dragon KeeperDragon HavenCity of DragonsBlood of Dragons
Rain Wilds Chronicles
 Fitz and the Fool Trilogy
1. Fool’s Assassin (2014)
Fool's Assassin








Filed under Fantasy, Robin Hobb